Ethics of Cannabis Lawyering

In this course, Jay Mootz -- Professor of Law at McGeorge School of Law, University of the Pacific -- explores the full scope of ethical questions arising out of representing cannabis clients. The material is presented as if you were part of a dynamic seminar class

Course Details

                  • CA BAR MCLE SUBMITTED
                  • Course Duration: 60 Minutes
                  • 70% passing grade is required
                  • Instructor: Professor Jay Mootz Esq.

Course Overview

In this course, Jay Mootz, Professor of Law and the former Dean of McGeorge School of Law, -- explores the full scope of ethical questions arising out of representing cannabis clients. The material is presented as if you were part of a dynamic seminar class. Professor Mootz begins with an overview of the social and legal history of cannabis because this history shapes current issues. The course then addresses three substantive topics: the legality of cannabis lawyering under federal law; the ethics of cannabis law under the California Rules of Professional Conduct; and the prudential concerns regarding potential waiver of the attorney-client privilege in federal court.

Course Chapters:

    • Chapter 01 - Course Overview
    • Chapter 02 - History of Cannabis Legalization in California
    • Chapter 03 - Business of cannabis develop
    • Chapter 04 - California  Law: Is Cannabis Lawyering Legal
    • Chapter 05 - Memorandums and Amendments
    • Chapter 06 - Is Cannabis Lawyering Ethical
    • Chapter 07 - Is Cannabis Lawyering Prudent
    • Chapter 08 - Course Summary

Who Should Take This Course:

        Any Legal Professional! Even if you do not plan to have a cannabis practice, your clients may become involved in transactions with this emerging $20 billion dollar industry, and you will need to understand your ability to represent that client ethically and legally.

What to expect:

          • Passing grade is 70% or higher
          • Below 70% grade means you must retake the course
          • Course completion will be sent to the appropriate state agency within 48 hours
          • You may retake the course until you get a 70% or higher grade
          • You may take any course as many times as you wish
          • You may not take the same course and receive duplicate credits